CT Gatorade Track and Field POYs Through the Years

National winners of the Gatorade Player of the Year award winners have included such luminaries as Lebron James and four UConn-bound women's basketball Players -- Tina Charles, Maya Moore, Breanna Stewart, Paige Bueckers -- and track and field notables such as Allyson Felix, Chanelle Price, Candace Hill, Sydney McLaughlin, and Katelyn Tuohy.

Each state along with Washington DC have Gatorade PoY winners selected in twelve different sports. This year Housatonic Regional's Sydney Segalla and Hillhouse's Gary Moore, Jr. joined the list of luminaries who have been honored with the T&F selection for CT. The track award includes achievements for both the indoor and outdoor seasons, though for basketball star Segalla only the outdoor season was in play, and in 2020 only the indoor season was really used.

With a little editing of the info from the Gatorade records of CT winners, we include the complete lists for the girls and boys from 1986 to the present. Athletes whose event area included a citation for "relays" are listed that way, but obviously there are a lot of runners who could have had that job added to their resume.

Gatorade Track and Field PoY - 1986-2022