Sean Dixon-Bodie Earns CT Gatorade Player Of The Year Honors

Sean Dixon-Bodie of Bloomfield has earned Connecticut Gatorade Player of the Year Honors for his excellence in the jumps in the 2020 season.

Dixon-Bodie emerged in the Triple Jump in early January jumping 51-6.5 to win the Hispanic Games for a 13 inch personal best.  He'd go on to win the VA Showcase and the Millrose Games, earning a US#1 mark at Millrose of 52-1.75.  That mark is good for US#3 All-Time Indoors and is a Connecticut Indoor State Record.

Unfortunately, the season abruptly ended days before Dixon-Bodie would get to contend for a 52-7.5 National Record at New Balance Indoor Nationals.

Dixon-Bodie also won the CIAC State Open High Jump and took 2nd in the Long Jump at 6-4 and 22-1.5.

"The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Dixon-Bodie as Connecticut's best high school boys track & field athlete."

Press Release

He will continue his Track & Field career at Louisiana State University in the Fall.  His 52-1.75 in the Triple Jump would have ranked 27th in the NCAA this indoor season.

Connecticut Gatorade Track & Field Player of the Year Winners

1985-1986 - Norman McHugh, Westhill, Distance
1986-1987 - Mike Remigino, Northwest Catholic, Distance
1987-1988 - Harvey Kendall, Hartford Public, Triple Jump 
1988-1989 - JT Burke, Xavier, Distance
1989-1990 - Harvey Kendall, Hartford Public, Triple Jump
1990-1991 - Trevis Brunson, Notre Dame, Sprints
1991-1992 - Gardner Lewis, Hamden, Jumps, Weight Throw
1992-1993 - Jerome Young, Prince Tech, Sprints
1993-1994 - Aaron Haynes, Wilbur Cross, Hurdles
1994-1995 - Jerome Young, Prince Tech, Sprints
1995-1996 - Steve Maheu, Xavier, Distance
1996-1997 - Dan Wilson, Notre Dame, Distance
1997-1998 - Hunter Spencer, E.O. Smith, Distance
1998-1999 - Shelldon Simpson, East Hartford, Sprints
1999-2000 - Jermelle Lewis, Bloomfield, Sprints
2000-2001 - Glenn McFadden, Hillhouse, Sprints
2001-2002- Andre Laboy, Danbury, Distance
2002-2003 - Ahmed Haji, Concord, Distance
2003-2004 - Gavin Coombs, Griswold, Distance
2004-2005 - Myles Bradley, Norwich Free Academy, Long Jump, Triple Jump, Hurdles
2005-2006 - James Nixon, Hyde Leadership School, Sprints
2006-2007 - Terrell Wilks, Hillhouse, Sprints
2007-2008 - Donn Cabral, Glastonbury, Distance
2008-2009 - Cas Loxsom, Wilbur Cross, Middle Distance
2009-2010 - Chris FitzSimons, Hamden, Middle Distance
2010-2011 - John Wlasuk, Newtown, Throws
2011-2012 - Jake Scinto, Cheshire, Jumps
2012-2013 - Henry Wynn, Staples, Distance
2013-2014 - Tyler Latham, Fitch, Hurdles, Javelin
2014-2015 - Spencer Brown, Wilton, Distance
2015-2016 - Eric van der Els, Brien McMahon, Distance
2016-2017 - Tyler Fleen, Trumbull, Distance
2017-2018 - Justin Forde, Brien McMahon, Jumps
2018-2019 - Justin Forde, Brien McMahon, Jumps
2019-2020 - Sean-Dixon Bodie, Bloomfield, Jumps